Assupol - Museum of Heroes
Meet the Heroes Remembered Heroes Prizes Contact
Zikhona Tywabi-Ngeva

Zikhona Tywabi-Ngeva

Lecturer and Researcher

Kindly receive my nomination for a Museum of Heroes, a proud initiative by the Momentum.

I would like to nominate a Komani-born Dr Zikhona Tywabi-Ngeva as a Hero. Dr Tywabi-Ngeva whom is very passionate about issues affecting South African youth and women, has after spending more than a decade in KwaZulu Natal attaining education and empowering herself decided to head home to the Eastern Cape to give back to her province of birth.
This nomination is further based on the following achievements by the nominee:

1. Dr Tywabi-Ngeva is a young academic who has and continues to play a vital role in the South African Science and Technology sphere whereby she started more than ten (10) years ago when she was still a Master’s student and a Researcher at the Durban University of Technology in Durban (DUT), KZN.

2. At her young age (33), she has been able to balance her professional career with her life as a community activist and a role model to young people. Over and above occupying a very demanding position of a Senior Lecturer and a Researcher at Nelson Mandela University (NMU), she is currently a member and a patron of her foundation – Dr ZTN Foundation which assists the youth from the rural areas of the Eastern Cape with university admission application forms; bursary opportunities and application processes; clothing drive for recent graduates from disadvantaged backgrounds; sharing of job opportunities and interview tips; and assist with postgraduate applications.

3. Her professional career highlights include being a Senior Lecturer and a Researcher at NMU Chemistry Department, Chemistry Lecturer and a Researcher at the University of Fort Hare (UFH), Chemistry Lecturer at the University of KwaZulu Natal (UKZN), Chemistry Lecturer at the University of Zululand, International Student Advisor at DUT’s Department of International Education and Partnerships, as well as a Chemistry Lecturer at DUT. She serves as a full member in the South African Chemical Institute as well as in the Organisation for Women in Science for the Developing World – South Africa Chapter. She has won several awards due to her dedication and influence in the field of Science and Technology, namely – Mail and Guardian Top 200 Young South African (2017); KZN Gagasi FM Shero Award (2017); Inspiring Fifty South Africa as a Top 50 Influential Young Women in STEM (2019); Avance Media 100 Most Influential Young South African (2020); 100 Shining Stars of South Africa (2020).

I trust that you will find this nomination and the contents contained herein to be in order. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you require any further information regarding this nomination.

Kind regards,

Share this story: